Civil Rights Project Reflection by Marie B.

My topic was about Ralph Ellison’s novel, The Invisible Man, which was written in the 1950’s about the struggles that black men had both in the North and South. The novel followed a man who believed he was invisible due to the fact that everyone ignored him. He tried to have influence both in the South, while he was in college, and in the North, while he was in Harlem. He was ultimately unsuccessful and ended up going into hiding due to the amount of racism he faced. The novel was not as popular when it first came out but it became more popular during the early 2000’s. 

I learned what it was like to live as a black man in the 1950’s and how hard it was to evoke change in the hearts and minds of the people. I have also learned that while the book was not popular during the civil rights movement, it still became a huge influence on the movement afterwards and caused people to want more change and more equality. 

I liked learning all of these things and understanding the differences that caused the civil rights movements back in the 1950’s. I also liked the way it was structured and how helpful Sal was when it came to the outline of the project. 

I would change my summary and shorten it because I made it a bit too long and tedious for listeners to comprehend. I think I could have done a better job with my script overall. 

Published by

Dominic Salvucci

Teacher, Father, Husband, Poet/Philosopher, Life Long Learner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *