Concerned women

I am Ashley S. in Mr. Sal’s 6th period class. In the 1800’s women weren’t given as many rights as men were. No matter what kind of family you lived in whether urban or rural you still had more respnsibility for children than men did. Women were very upset with child labor because young children were working in factories. Kids who worked in paint factories inhaled toxic arsenic fumes and children that worked in clothing factories suffered spinal curvature from hunching over sewing machines. Women weren’t aloud to do many things like voting. Women mainly only took care of the children. Florence Kelley tried to fix the child labor rules. She went to college at Cornell University in New York and then went to graduate school in Switzerland. She pressed the federal government to outlaw child labor but it did not work. She continued her work to try to get rid of child labor but it never worked.

Published by

as207812

I am Ashley. I'm a junior in high school and I play soccer and softball. I twirl the flag in band and I play the flute for concerts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *