Civil Rights Project Reflection by Eva F

Hi, my person was Billie Holiday. She made a big impact on the civil rights movement. During the 1930’s she joined a white band, being the first African American to join a white band. “Strange Fruit” is said to be the first protest song, since the lyrics are comparing victims to the fruit on trees. Billie Holiday’s song is included in the Songs of the Century. She passed away in July 1959. 

I learned about who Billie Holiday was. In my family my parents mentioned her sometimes, they say they like her songs or something, and I never knew who she was. I learned about how civil rights really affected people, from Holiday making a song about it. 

I liked having to make a google doc for our research notes. That helped me stay organized in a way. I liked how we created this on Canva and could make nice creative templates. 

However, that being said, I did not like having to record ourselves speaking. It’s better than going up in front of the class, but I don’t like my voice in general. 

Published by

Dominic Salvucci

Teacher, Father, Husband, Poet/Philosopher, Life Long Learner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *